hostvid.blogg.se

Electra westone guitar
Electra westone guitar











electra westone guitar
  1. Electra westone guitar series#
  2. Electra westone guitar crack#

I came back an hour later and to my horror it had dislodged from the hook at the butt end and was laying in the bottom of the booth, bouncing! Fortunately the motor I use has a clutch and will slip if it cannot turn what is attached and the damage was confined to one edge and the tip of the headstock. What catastrophe you ask? I had just finished the last coat of clear and left it in the booth to cure. The reason I say winter finish is if I'm not happy with it the way it is I'll take it down and re-do it with the expensive Re-Ranch finish. Despite a near catastrophe (if there was a way to bung it up I will find it), the winter finish is done. At least it won't look like a peg-legged one armed civil war vet any more. Two coats of solid color, one dust coat to enhance the flake, and two coats of clear is on. It's one solid color now, pretty close to the Lake Placid Blue Metalflake of Re-Ranch's. This pretty much nixed the vintage burst idea. The can did spit a bit though since it was nearly empty and it looks a little lopsided to my eye on the front near the controls. After the sealer coat on went a pseudo vintage burst. There were over 50 that had to be filled. In the spray booth it went with as many dings addressed as possible. After roughing out the cracks I would be ready for fill and smooth. I have had that happen on a guitar someone else did and it left ugly bruises on my left hand where the headstock swung around and nailed me from the string tension. Too much is brittle and could come undone. Only hairlines were visible where the wood was split which means only enough glue to glue to form a lasting bond. Once I had good even and complete coverage on went the clamps and the excess cleaned off.Ī good 24 hours later the clamps came off and I had a good, tight, well compressed bond.

Electra westone guitar crack#

I managed to use a syringe to slowly inject small amounts of glue into the crack being careful not to load it up next to the truss. The wood had split partway into the headstock, and every side of the headstock had some kindof of ding. Now, whether I could get the hide glue in there evenly enough to get a good bond without gluing the truss in place was the question. I wasn't sure if the truss was still intact but after checking, fortunately it was. The next number of shots is what I had to begin with. I suspect this thing has seen at least a few bar brawls in it's day, which was close to being over. This thing must have been drug through a tractor-trailer garage then dragged down 10 miles of rocky road. Nonetheless, the challenge presented itself and here was my opportunity to try out one of the MPC guitars without the effects. An eBurnt BIN at $183 total with the hopes I come out ahead. Whether Hetfield’s guitar was made by a company called Elektra, or whether this was a spelling mistake on the typist’s part is not known.Probably the only person that is not going to think I am nuts for nailing this one is another member of the forums who has also been around this block a few times. Electra made a bolt-neck Gibson V copy from 1974 to the early 80s, and Hetfield’s allusion that the guitar was made in the late seventies or early eighties, and has a bolt-on neck, means it could well be made by Electra. Interestingly, in a recent interview with James Hetfield of Metallica, he claims his iconic battered Gibson Flying V copy he has used from the start of his career was made by a company called “Elektra”.

electra westone guitar

This one is in a natural finish and is possibly an earlier model due to the inclusion of a scratchplate. This model featured an ash or maple body (the one for sale looks maple to me), and two coil-tapped humbucking pickups. The one featured on the site, I believe to be a Phoenix X135 model.

Electra westone guitar series#

The Phoenix was the best known of Electra’s original models, a vaguely Strat-shaped guitar available as a series of 10-15 different models. In 1983 or so the Electra brand was dropped by SLM in favour of another brand made in the same Matsomoku factory, the better-known Westone, one of which, as you may know, has eventually ended up in our possession. Louis Music of Missouri during the 1970s up to the mid 1980s.

electra westone guitar

I did some research and found, through the Westone Info link at the bottom of this page, a whole website dedicated to Electra here Īs it turns out, the brand was exclusively made up of well-built Japanese guitars, mostly copies but with some original shapes, most notably the Phoenix series. You may have seen the curious Electra Phoenix detailed in Jan 30th’s post.













Electra westone guitar